Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Choosing a Notebook Photo Workstation (PC or Mac)  (Read 20782 times)

Dan Wells

Choosing a Notebook Photo Workstation (PC or Mac)
« on: March 25, 2015, 09:54:33 pm »

I have been using Macs for many years, but recently started experimenting with (and liking) a Surface Pro 3 as well, so I'm very open to either Mac or Windows as I replace my main portable editing system. I’d prefer a Mac if all else were equal, but there are many more options on the PC side. I'm looking for a powerful notebook with a great high-resolution, color-accurate display, good internal storage and RAM potential and a versatile collection of ports. On the PC side, the purpose-built notebook workstations from a couple of vendors look appealing, although there are also gaming-focused notebooks that could be turned into photo powerhouses. On the Mac side, it's of course the Retina MBP 15", take it or leave it. The Mac would appeal to me more if it were more customizable (the most galling flaw is that the RAM is soldered and the SSD proprietary).

The three most interesting machines I've found are the Lenovo W541, the Dell Precision M3800 and the rMBP. Razer and Asus thin gaming notebooks look appealing, but I can't see why to choose them over the workstations from Lenovo and Dell. The lighter Lenovo W550 is a dual-core, while everything I'm looking at is a quad. The Dell M4800 seems a lot bigger and heavier than the others, even the Lenovo W541, and I can't quite see why.