Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Migrating Snow Geese 2015  (Read 1257 times)

SangRaal

Migrating Snow Geese 2015
« on: March 24, 2015, 08:15:12 pm »

Pictures made at Middle Creek Migratory Bird Sanctuary(operated by the P.G.C.) afternoon of 3/23/15 Southeastern Lebanon County . "Tour Trail" was routed to exclude access to the lake. All viewing activity was over cornfields. Pic #1 is a flyout caused by 3 raptors circling in formation, Pic #2 made the first cull and I am just beginning to work on the files. 

Paulo Bizarro

• http://www.paulobizarro.com
Re: Migrating Snow Geese 2015
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2015, 04:58:32 am »

Good shot. Out of curiosity, the background seems almost like a "frosted" glass, was that the result from the aperture set?

maddogmurph

• Maddog's Photography
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2015, 02:27:56 pm »

I agree, oddly the background here is more interesting to me than the birds.  It's like a beautiful oil painted abstract of sorts.
Maddog Murph
www.depictionsofbeauty.com
Mostly here for constructive feedback.

SangRaal

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2015, 06:42:59 pm »

Yes there is something not right about the background, the file was processed in Lightroom and is a greater than 100% crop. I got 3 different suggestions from 3 different people, do the raw conversion in DPP 4, Do the raw conversion and process in C1, and or in the future pull the rear "gel" filter holder and replace either with polarizing filter or with the screw in filter holder with no filter. I am also very frustrated because I am unable to post the first pic that was in this group a Geese Flyout that was a full white-out despite the fact that I reformatted it 3 times. I began to work on these file this morning during breakfast but got interrupted when 2 large Tom Turkeys showed up outside the kitchen to put on a strutting display for a group of females, they were interrupted by 4 or 5 smaller Toms and we had a full turkey war outside that I had to photograph.

NancyP