Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Professional DSLR market about to change?  (Read 2829 times)

situgrrl

• http://www.charlyburnett.com
Professional DSLR market about to change?
« on: January 21, 2006, 12:23:52 pm »

Is next month's PMA show going to change things significantly at the high end?  For more years than I've been alive the pro ("35mm") market has been dominated by Canon and Nikon.

Whilst I'm no expert, the market for small broadcast cameras seems filled by Sony, Panasonic and Canon, the first two using Zeiss and Leica optics.  This suggests that Sony and Panasonic have the knowhow to support pros in the field.  I understand that one of the reasons the Minolta 9 series cameras were not used widely was that they lacked the field support offered by Canon and Nikon.

There is another thread that tells us Konica Minolta are to be rebranded Sony.  Web rumours have it that KM have developed a Dynax 9D with a full frame sensor for PMA.  Panasonic are due to release a 4/3 SLR (rumoured to have OIS in the body, how you can have an *optical* IS in a camera body is a mystery to me!) at PMA alongside a replacement for the Olympus E1.

Does this mean that there will be Leica lenses available in 4/3 fit and Zeiss ones in Sony-Konica-Minolta-Pan-Am-Ford fit.  How much would this affect the market?  Afterall, we all know that it's the lens rather than the camera that can make a picture....

pchaplo

• Marfa Flights book and exhibit
Professional DSLR market about to change?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 02:30:47 pm »

How much would this affect the market?  Afterall, we all know that it's the lens rather than the camera that can make a picture....

I dont think that it will be a major contender. Nikon will be complimented by Zeiss lensess with Nikon mounts, and us pro 1D series users have wide angle CZ's with adapters already.