Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Monitor Calibration problems  (Read 5711 times)

Jason Cory

Monitor Calibration problems
« on: January 17, 2006, 05:45:35 pm »

OK, I'm new to real monitor calibration as those of you know that read my last calibration post. I was using Adobe Gamma previously.

Well, my previous calibration issues are fixed, it seems. The mouse pointer is no longer pink and my and other's images look better after recalibrating using a setting of gamma 2.2 - native (rather than gamma 2.2 - 6500K) as someone here suggested.

But now I have a new problem. It seems that every other time I log on to my windows account, the display looks much brighter than normal, even though a window pops up at startup saying my ICC profile was successfully loaded. Interestingly, switching to my wife's account, then logging  out and reentering my own seems to fix the problem. The ICC profile loads again and the screen dims slightly and gains contrast.

I thought buying monitor calibration software was going to make my life easier, but so far it has only complicated things. Images look better once the profile loads correctly, but it's far from consistent. And consistency is why we profile, right???

Is is possible Adobe Gamma is loading at times, throwing off my profile? I've used Pantone Profile Chooser to make sure the correct profile is loaded. I'm not sure how to completely disable Adobe Gamma if that is possible.

I'd really appreciate any help you can give. I really don't want to spend hours editing images that will have to be redone later when I realize that my "calibrated" monitor was never really calibrated at all.  Any thoughts?

bobrobert

« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2006, 05:09:22 am »

OK, I'm new to real monitor calibration as those of you know that read my last calibration post. I was using Adobe Gamma previously.