Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: setting up new ipf8400. Stupid questions--edited- sorry darn spellcheck  (Read 3077 times)

gchappel

New printer for me- being delivered in about a week.  Setting up an area about 8feet from my photo computer.
Any advantage to usb or ethernet connection?  Will be well under the usb 16' connection limitation.  
Anything you wished you had done before you installed your printer- besides making the room bigger?
Ipf8400 users- any tips for a newbie?  I have been printing on an epson3880 for several years, but I do expect a learning curve- especially with bigger pieces.

Thanks
Gary

Darn spell check.  Sorry- ipf8400.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2015, 10:51:27 pm by gchappel »

Phil Indeblanc

Re: setting up new hp8400. Stupid questions
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 10:41:19 pm »

This is a new machine to me, so what I say is not directly related to the hp8400.(*OK, i guess the IPF8400 hahaha...Well, I'm sure some or all this will relate to the Canon as well). I scratched my head for a second as I know HP made the 5200 and 6200 or something, why not a hp8400 :-)

Cogratulations on your new beast!

I hope you have the joy and positive experience I had moving from Epson to HP.

Re your setup:
I'm not sure what it was but there was something about the HP driver and some feature working best over eithernet, but I cant think of it, and it might have been MAC specific.
Anyway, one thing I would think about is how much time you would spend 8ft from this thing. The fans can be loud on LF printers.
The learning curve is just to simply follow some steps that may not make direct sense until you figure out its ways. But HP is rather straight forward. SOmetimes the roll feed needs massaging to get used to.  

Let us know how it performs!
« Last Edit: February 24, 2015, 04:26:38 am by Phil Indeblanc »
If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...

jvadasz

Re: setting up new ipf8400. Stupid questions--edited- sorry darn spellcheck