Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Phase One P25 capability  (Read 2723 times)

Mike Sellers

• Mike Sellers Photography
Phase One P25 capability
« on: February 22, 2015, 11:29:07 am »

Can the captures from this 25mp back make good looking prints at maybe 30 or 40 inches?
Mike

sailronin

• David Reams Photography
Re: Phase One P25 capability
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2015, 12:18:05 pm »

No problem as long as you are careful with your workflow.  I've been using a P30 for 4 or 5 years and it produces beautiful images.
Thank you for looking, comments and critiques are always welcome.
Dave

http://sailronin.smugmug.com

Phil Indeblanc

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2015, 02:26:27 pm »

Subject might make a difference, combined with viewing distance makes a difference, and as mentioned combined with your workflow. I think that size back makes a native 300 print in 13+x 18+ inches.... But the files are meaty.
If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...

NickT

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2015, 04:57:16 pm »

Just FYI this is a Kodak chipped 22MP back.

ndevlin

• Follow me on Twitter
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2015, 10:16:24 pm »

Max acceptable print size is both a function of personal taste and image content, so it's very variable.  The P25 produces gorgeous files. They are 'only' 22MPs, but I think most people would think 20x30" prints from it to be gorgeous.  30x40 would be viable on many subjects.  But if this kind of enlargeability is really your need, a P45 or equivalent is probably worth the modest incremental cost.

- N.
Nick Devlin   @onelittlecamera        ww

Chris Livsey

« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2015, 02:35:26 am »

a P45 or equivalent is probably worth the modest incremental cost.

- N.

I think that depends on your location. In the UK you can buy two P25 backs for one P45 or one H4D.40 for the same money.
(And import and taxes would increase a non EU price by around 1/3rd)
See another thread re Phase One prices in the UK from dealers.