Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DNG Profile Editor confusion with Sony RX10.  (Read 21843 times)

Redcrown

DNG Profile Editor confusion with Sony RX10.
« on: January 25, 2015, 03:30:04 am »

Got a new camera for my wife, a Sony RX10. That's a high end P&S (now called a "Bridge" camera). So I'm profiling it with the Adobe DNG Profile Editor (DNGpe). I've had a lot of experience with profiling, but it's been a few years since the last time. All prior experience was with Canon (1Ds, 5D2, 5D3).

I'm getting some strange results with the Sony that I don't understand. I'm hoping someone can help clear up that confusion.

I made bracketed shots of my ColorChecker under different lights. I generated 3 DNGpe profiles, one for each shot in the bracketed set. When I apply these profiles to any one image in the set I get different results. I'm used to minor differences between theoretically identical profiles, but in this case the differences are significant. That's my confusion. Why do profiles made from slightly different exposures generate significantly different results?

The attached image shows different results from different profiles applied to the same image.

When I bring my three bracketed shots into ACR using the Adobe Standard profile and Adobe98 colorspace I see RGB values for the White and Black squares of 240/48, 228/36, and 200/25. Those should all be good exposures. No clipping on either end. The light was even, 5600K. I generated single illuminant profiles using Adobe Standard as the base profile and the 6500K color table. I closed and relaunched DNGpe between each run to make sure I didn't carry over any previous settings.