Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Leasing Printer  (Read 2659 times)

Emillstein

Leasing Printer
« on: December 22, 2014, 08:19:54 pm »

I'm an individual professional photographer planning to purchase my first printer, leaning towards a Canon IPF8400.

Does anyone have experience leasing a printer rather than buying?  On the surface this seems like a decent idea, although maybe there are disadvantages I'm not aware of.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Jglaser757

Re: Leasing Printer
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 08:41:00 pm »

I just bought an epson 9900. I was looking seriously at the 8400 too. I thought about leasing a printer( previously leased dental equipment), but paying monthly on a 4k or 5 K printer wasn't really worth it. It was like paying off a credit card and I wanted the points instead. And the terms were not favorable.

dchew

• Dave Chew Photography
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2014, 09:00:56 pm »

I think the standard lease vs buy questions apply:

-Is there something you would do with the cash today that would give you a greater financial return than the added cost associated with leasing compared to buying?
-How long do you plan to use the printer? In general, the longer you plan to keep it the more it makes sense to buy.
-Are you going to work the equipment hard? This relates to useful life. If you plan to kill it before its normal life, leasing might make sense. The leasing company may have protection against this, like mileage limits on a car lease. In this case, per square inches printed or ink volume used.

I've had my printer for over 4 years, and don't use it every day. It would have been crazy for me to lease. It might have been almost as financially crazy for me to buy it too, but that's another story!