Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I start with making metal prints?  (Read 10504 times)

crwoo

How do I start with making metal prints?
« on: December 22, 2014, 11:32:21 am »

Hi, I want to try my own metal prints for personal use and I wonder where I would start? I would use an Epson 3880.

stockjock

Re: How do I start with making metal prints?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 01:04:34 pm »

Do you mean metal prints as in prints on aluminium with the image infused into the coating or "metallic" looking paper?  They are quite different.  I have no experience with the prints on aluminium.  But I have tried both of Epson's metallic papers and I got very good results with the Epson Metallic Photo Paper Glossy.  Epson's profile is crap and you can expect some fairly significant color shifts but images that work on that paper pop in a really big way.  The Epson Metallic Photo Paper Luster is less distinctive although the profile is quite a bit more accurate.  I haven't tried the other metal papers out there.  The best prices on the Epson paper are available from www.immediasys.com.  For some weird reason they are just a lot cheaper than the other suppliers.  Other than the profiles the biggest negative on the Epson is how thin it is but I believe this is normal for these papers. 

BillK

• http://
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2014, 04:13:30 pm »

If you are talking about dye sublimation on aluminum you will need a heat press and a printer that can use sublimation inks.
For a little less than 3k you can get the equipment to print up to 13" wide. And have a 16x20 press.
To go larger than that, the cost goes up substantially. Probably not feasible unless your volume is very high.

Look here: http://www.dyetrans.com/index.php

I know of no one using a 3880 for sublimation inks.

If you are talking about metallic paper. Thats a different story, most any inkjet printer will work.

crwoo

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2014, 06:05:39 pm »