Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problems with Exhibition Matte Canvas  (Read 6066 times)

robcoomer

Problems with Exhibition Matte Canvas
« on: December 08, 2014, 12:52:35 am »

I'm at the end of my rope with Epson at the moment. Is anyone out there successfully printing, sealing, and stretching newer Epson Exhibition Matte Canvas?

I've been using it for many years without any issues, first on a 7600 & 9600 and then on a 9900, but now I seem to have problems with it because of something they have done in the manufacturing / coatings.

When printing heavy coverage, such as a black border on a gallery wrap, the ink and coating will come off, whether it has been sealed or not. Once the "bad" canvas has been printed, I can run my thumbnail along the black area and the ink with just flake off under light pressure. With the older canvas, it would "gloss up" but not come off. Even once it's sealed, when I grab it with a pair of stretching pliers and pull, the ink, the canvas coating, and the UV sealant will peel up where I grabbed it. I can then run my finger over it and everything just comes off in little bits and pieces. When the roll is first open, it has a heavy solvent smell, when cut with scissors, it "snows" from all of the flaking. It also clogs the printer, forcing many cleaning cycles.

For my own prints, I'm currently running the canvas on an Epson 9900 with Epson inks, letting it dry for at least 24 hours (up to a week) and then sealing it with Clear Shield, and again allowing it to dry for at least 24 hours before stretching.

I have a painter that I print for, who stretches his canvas unsealed and then seals it with a brush. We have never had a problem until last year when I bought 12 rolls during one of their rebate sales. 6 of them had the flaking problem and was replaced by Epson, though they said they didn't know of any problem. I'm now having the same problem with some of the replacement rolls.