Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: gardening  (Read 1990 times)

Jeremy Roussak

• Administrator
    • site
gardening
« on: November 29, 2014, 01:41:06 pm »

The nearly 900,000 ceramic poppies, the last placed on 11th November, were being removed. They're probably all gone by now.

Jeremy
« Last Edit: November 29, 2014, 02:19:56 pm by kikashi »

Paul Gessler

Re: gardening
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2014, 05:49:59 pm »

For me (though I'm far from an expert, still learning lots), I think the composition would be better with the "gardener" either in the frame or out of it, not halfway as you've framed it here.
The red channel is significantly blown, causing the "nuclear" colors in the flowers themselves. This is often a difficulty for me when shooting flowers or other heavily saturated colors.

Apart from those two issues, I do like the concept. The three regions of the photo differ in both texture and color, which is nice, and the wheelbarrow adds some valuable interest to the foreground.

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2014, 05:51:43 pm »

Very nice, and certainly an unusual subject! I would have the person totally in or totally out of the frame, but perhaps you intended the half-person?

Box Brownie

• Engram Photography
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2014, 06:24:02 pm »

On a related side note about the ceramic poppies ~ AFAIK they were all pre sold and there was a report on the BBC Radio 2 Jeremy Vine show that some had been delivered to the recipients broken, sadly it seems because they are/were inadequately cushioned in the box, not marked 'Fragile' and some of the courier company drivers shown on in one case CCTV as being oh so cavalier with their method of 'delivery', even though he lobbed it 7 metres it did survive...............more by luck than judgement!