Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: wrong thumbnail image in Project  (Read 4398 times)

offtheroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
wrong thumbnail image in Project
« on: November 28, 2014, 03:17:36 PM »

I have some wrong small images in a project. When I click on it I get the larger correct image. Aperture 3.6 in Yosemite 10.10.1
I did the relaunch Aperture with Opt Cmd and rebuilt library and all three choices.
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 863
    • Aspiration Images
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2014, 03:54:54 PM »

My experience with that problem was that you have multiple images with the same file name. i now import all of my images after they have been placed in a folder and renamed with the shooting date in front of the file name. I use DPP for this. (that is the only thing I use DPP for)

You can have a read of my blog at AspirationImages.com/blog and look for "Your Digital Legacy."
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Photography, Custom Framing and Printing, Sydney Australia

offtheroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2014, 04:02:02 PM »

Sadly, you are correct. I have many more that I guessed. How is the easiest way to remedy them? Also some of my thumbnails are squeezed.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2014, 04:06:13 PM by offtheroad »
Logged

offtheroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2014, 04:28:43 PM »

I can't see anywhere in DPP 3.14 where to add any thing to the image number? OK so I had to find the problem file. add a 2010 date to the end of the file name put it back in to my HD that I store all original images in, reimport it into aperture then take the duplicate named thumbnail and put it back into project where it was suppose to be in the first place. Ugh! How does this duplicate numbering happen in the first place. I'm trying to get my Apertue lib all fixed up so when the new Apple Photo's comes out I have as few problems as possible.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2014, 05:05:55 PM by offtheroad »
Logged

offtheroad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2014, 07:52:53 PM »

This only started happening after I did the Option Command and I started up Aperture and rand the 3 options: Repair Permissions, Repair Database and Rebuild Database.
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 863
    • Aspiration Images
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2014, 04:13:52 AM »

I can't see anywhere in DPP 3.14 where to add any thing to the image number?
Tools - Rename Tool
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Blog - http://AspirationImages.com/blog
Photography, Custom Framing and Printing, Sydney Australia

John Sluder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
    • John Sluder Photography
Re: wrong thumbnail image in Project
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2014, 05:49:38 PM »

Also can try to reprocess all your files and recreate the thumbnails, this will fix the issue if you have the RAW files

Photos>Reprocess Originals

Hold the option key then select Photos>Create Thumbnail

this will force aperture to recreate all the thumbnails it has store in it's internal DB
Pages: [1]   Go Up