Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Action's Magic Moment, Frame Rate, Shutter Lag and Skill!  (Read 3671 times)

dwswager

Action's Magic Moment, Frame Rate, Shutter Lag and Skill!
« on: November 18, 2014, 02:42:16 pm »

There has been a lot of discussion about frames per second since the introduction of the 10fps Canon 7DmkII.  This camera is said to be a great action (sports and wildlife) camera.  Since I shoot a lot of action, I started thinking about what is really necessary to shoot action well.  I'm an amateur and my cameras see all kinds of subjects from sports to studio portraits so, I need a more general camera.  I also lean toward image quality over all out speed.  That said, all else being equal, yes, I would opt for higher speed rather than not.

Some action is just so high speed, it takes fast technology to execute the shot.  In fact, some technologies just make the shot possible...like the bullet through the flame (Doc Edgerton pops in my head).  And some action is so unpredictable, so unexpected, that it is happy coincidence while blasting with really high frame rates that an image is captured at all.  But most action has patterns and predictability to it.

Shown in the chart is a generic representation of the Magic Moment and where a great image is made versus something boring.  A few points

1. The slope of the graph is different for every action event, but there is usually one fleeting moment of greatest impact.

2. The slope of such a graph might not be identical on both sides of the Magic Moment.  There might be better photos either prior to or just after than the other way around.

3. What exactly constitutes the magic moment might be open to debate, but usually it is the point of highest tension or visual impact.  Let's face it, a photo of a golf swing with the club perpendicular to vertical might be nice for instruction, but it is unlikely to make the cover of SI!