Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Home based framing biz - Seeking advice  (Read 9462 times)

CRFTony

Home based framing biz - Seeking advice
« on: November 04, 2014, 02:41:10 pm »

I've been a full time photographer for 7 years.  I primarily focus on portraits and I hate to repeatedly tell clients to go to Michaels/Hobby Lobby to get their portraits framed.  I feel like I'm losing money on potential add on sales, but I'm also making another "chore" for my clients to deal with and with everyone's hectic lifestyles today, I know most customers don't want to be bothered. 

I'm considering turning part of my home based studio into a framing business and I'm wondering if anyone else here has made that leap and wants to share some advice.  I already do my own printing and adding framing would be a nice addition because I could more easily offer custom sizes, etc.  I also like the idea of giving clients a truly "finished" product.  I've already begun looking around at the various items needed, the wall mounted glass cutter, mat cutter, etc.  If anyone wants to give advice on suppliers for moulding/mats I'd be very receptive.  I'm in Western Pennsylvania, if that matters. :)

Thanks!

Tony

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
Re: Home based framing biz - Seeking advice
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2014, 03:32:38 pm »

I frame my gator-mounted, varnished prints with very simple frames where I pick the moulding which I buy 1000+ feet at a time.  No glazing, no mattes, no backing, no user-specified options, just a classic oil-painting style presentation.  Looks fabulous on the wall.  Takes less than an hour to go from print to finished frame, and earns me several hundred extra dollars per sofa-sized piece.  But it would be wildly insane for me to do the whole thing with glass, mattes, etc because I would have no time left for shooting or wasting on forums.