Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Lenses for Pentax 645z  (Read 16755 times)

Dshelly

• Darryl Shelly Photography
Lenses for Pentax 645z
« on: November 03, 2014, 10:38:23 am »

Can anyone comment on their experiences using the FA Pentax lenses? I'm considering the 645z, but buying the DA lenses ($5k per lens) is not in my budget. I have no experience with Pentax, so I would be interested in hearing other users experiences. I'm considering the primes 45mm, 75mm and 120mm, but would also be interested in to know if their zoom lenses are worth putting in my camera bag. I primarily shoot portraits and fashion editorials.

Thanks for any suggestions or comments.

ndevlin

• Follow me on Twitter
Re: Lenses for Pentax 645z
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 11:06:45 am »

Hey,

Here's the skinny:

- both 35mm lenses are good.

- the 45mm f2.8 is the perfect size, the perfect focal length, and a total dud.

- the new 55mm is good.

- the 45-85mm is surprisingly good, especially on the wider-to-medium range. I've had four of them over the years, and none has disappointed.  

- the 75mm f2.8 is generally cracking sharp

- the new 90mm is excellent, but WAY too big.

- the FA 120 macro is outstanding. I've owned two and shot with a third - universally excellent

- I personally found the 150mm f2.8 not outstandingly sharp, but it might be nice for portraits.  I just bought, mostly by accident an A-150mm f3.5, for $60 (gotta love ebay). It's not super easy to focus (better on liveview), and doesn't focus close, but has a nice rendering.  For the money, why not try one?