Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OK to use the cutter for cutting canvas?  (Read 2469 times)

mcrepsej

• http://www.iversenfoto.dk
OK to use the cutter for cutting canvas?
« on: October 27, 2014, 03:07:08 pm »

I have an Epson 9900 but can not see in the manual if you have to use the cutter to cut off canvas or not?
It handles it fine but maybe it wears too much on the cutter.

Garnick

Re: OK to use the cutter for cutting canvas?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 05:19:48 pm »

I have an Epson 9900 but can not see in the manual if you have to use the cutter to cut off canvas or not?

This question has been posted here in the recent past and the answer is almost always the same, no problem.  I believe the 9900 has a rotary cutter, so the wear and tear seems to be minimum compared to the usual blade configuration.  I've been printing and cutting canvas on mine for 4 years and the cutter still does a fine job on any substrate.  The only thing I would suggest is to clean the paper path after each canvas printing session.  I typically use a vacuum with a snout to get into the crevasses as much as possible.  Cutting canvas can definitely leave more residue on the rollers etc than any other material, although some fine art papers also leave fibers behind.  A good cleaning can certainly save time and paper by not allowing these fibers to block the ink path and then leave white spots on the print.  Usually they can be fixed rather easily, but not always.  A bit of preventive maintenance can go a long way.

Gary       
Gary N.
"My memory isn't what it used to be. As a matter of fact it never was." (gan)

Dan Wells

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 08:23:11 pm »