Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photoshop color space question-new monitor  (Read 3491 times)

Dave Gurtcheff

Photoshop color space question-new monitor
« on: October 23, 2014, 03:16:07 pm »

Hi all:
I recently replaced my monitor with an ASUS Pro Art. This monitor allows selecting Adobe RGB mode, and supposedly is factory calibrated (I think it came with an inspection certificate certifying Adobe RGB mode accuracy). I calibrate/profile my monitor with a Spyder 3. I find this hardware/software easy to use, and straight forward. My question is: Up to now I have been using Prophoto RGB in Photoshop. Should I now change this to what I used to use, namely Adobe RGB, so they match? I am a novice in Color Mgt, but have been fortunate in achieving prints that match my monitor.
Thanks in advance, this site has helped me enormously.
Dave in NJ

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: Photoshop color space question-new monitor
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 03:32:41 pm »

... My question is: Up to now I have been using Prophoto RGB in Photoshop. Should I now change this to what I used to use, namely Adobe RGB, so they match?...

No. You should continue to use the larger space (Prophoto RGB) while editing in PS, and then export to a different space when done: sRGB for web (and print labs that insist on it) and paper-specific for home printing.

Jim Kasson

• The Last Word
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 03:33:38 pm »

Hi all:
 This monitor allows selecting Adobe RGB mode, and supposedly is factory calibrated (I think it came with an inspection certificate certifying Adobe RGB mode accuracy)......Should I now change this to what I used to use, namely Adobe RGB, so they match? I am a novice in Color Mgt, but have been fortunate in achieving prints that match my monitor.