Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: avoiding black harsh shadows in landscapes  (Read 9949 times)

giancoli

avoiding black harsh shadows in landscapes
« on: October 14, 2014, 03:01:51 pm »

Hi!
I'm kind of new to photography. I'm doing landscapes.
Sometimes I'm struggling with too black and harsh shadows. I off course shoot raw. one way to avoid it is off course to move the shadow setting far to the right, as well as the contrast and blackness. That brings the darkest parts from being totally black. But that makes the overall image flat and boring for the most part...How do you guys solve this problem?
Do you edit the picture twice and mask out the shadows?
here is my gallery, if you want to check out my pictures:
http://giancoli.deviantart.com/gallery/
I would really appreciate any feedback on my pictures. I want to improve my pictures. I'm not really satisfied with them. Something is due to the shot itself I guess, but I think alot comes down to the editing process.
I got a sony A7R and a 55mm 1.8 zeiss prime, there shouldn't be any restrictions on my equipment. Except that I need a wider angle lens, but I'm waiting for the 16-35 release in November.
giancoli
« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 03:07:21 pm by giancoli »

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: avoiding black harsh shadows in landscapes
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 03:21:03 pm »

Can you post a single picture here as an example, so that we can see what you are talking about? And perhaps your best effort at processing it?

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2014, 03:51:16 pm »

Hi,

The way I do this that I first add a graduated filter on the sky with some negative exposure and negative highlights.

After that I reduce highlights overall.

Now, the sky and highlights are dark enough so I can increase exposure a bit.

At this point I move blacks a bit to the left, so I get some clipping.