Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Looks like Canon did not forget the pros  (Read 4172 times)

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Looks like Canon did not forget the pros
« on: October 08, 2014, 06:45:51 pm »

Take a look at Canon rumors.  http://www.canonrumors.com/2014/10/multilayer-sensors-are-coming-from-canon-cr2/

This has been in the rumors for so long, glad to see it's finally coming to light.  It will be very interesting to see what they have done here, multilayer, full frame, and high res.  It will be an interesting 2015.  I have to assume a Foveon style chip?

Paul
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

NancyP

Re: Looks like Canon did not forget the pros
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 07:10:06 pm »

Aaackk. TWO cameras to save for....  On the other hand I have been awaiting the 7D2 for over two years, and I will expect the new 1DZed or 9D to show up late in 2015 if at all.  :D

I use Sigma cameras, and I can say that the Foveon sensor technology has its own problems, most notably deterioration of performance above ISO 400 (I prefer to use the Merrills at ISO 200, their base) and the even more restricted dynamic range - Canonistas, we have nothing to complain about if we compare our Canons to the Merrills for DR. But there is a certain Foveon "look" that in the right setting is great, beats the pants off ordinary Bayer sensors.

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 07:26:39 pm »

Canon set the mark back in 2002 when they announced the 1Ds mk1 at 11mp. That camera changed how I shot landscapes for many years.

If Canon has found a way to get the increased resolution from multilayer and still have high ISO ranges, KUDOS  to Canon.

Paul
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 08:24:20 pm »