Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HP splitting the Company in Two: One part for computers/One for Printers  (Read 3922 times)

foto_man

http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/oct/06/hewlett-packard-split-into-two

As there are a lot of Z series printer users here, I thought I'd get a reaction.

What do you guys think? Will this be better now that the printer business will be it's own and not part of a huge company?

Anyone who has tried to navigate the HP website or customer service knows what a mess it is.

Hopefully, they (the printer side of HP) can now fully concentrate on their products (which I personally, really really like) and their customer service.

Do you guys think it will be better for us HP printer users or worse?

chez

Re: HP splitting the Company in Two: One part for computers/One for Printers
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2014, 08:16:32 pm »

From a product perspective, the HP line of large format printers are wonderful. I've been using 2 for the last 5 years without any issues producing excellent results.

From a service perspective, HP really dropped the ball big time. Their software is buggy and I always cringe when upgrading as I've been burned with a system not able to print for over a week after an upgrade to the software.

I'm hoping the printer business unit continues to produce great printers and being split from the rest of HP, hopefully they create a much more personal service department which actually helps when someone needs it.

I can only see good things from this.

Ernst Dinkla

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 03:40:11 am »

More worried about the transition period than the companies being separated. With rumors like this that period started yesterday and given the uncertainty that it will actually happen that transition period can take a long time. Today may give the answer. Hope they have a better hand in splitting up the company than they had in buying other companies.

--
Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst