Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Another what is the best light bulb for photo editing question  (Read 12156 times)

tsinsf

Another what is the best light bulb for photo editing question
« on: September 25, 2014, 02:48:28 pm »

I get to slightly make over our guest room to make it photo editing friendly. I plan to paint the walls light grey (photo grey is too dark) and heavily shade the large window. I don't get to change light fixtures (marriage!) so my question is what bulbs are best in conventional screw in type fixtures: one overhead, and one floor lamp. I use a 30" Nec monitor and Epson 3800 printer. I have read many of the articles when one googles this subject, but most recommendations are for bulbs that require specialized fixtures, which aren't an option in my case. I'm not a pro, just a serious amateur. Thanks!!

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Another what is the best light bulb for photo editing question
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 03:10:11 pm »

http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

PhilipCummins

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2014, 08:00:11 am »

I think you can still get some of the MR16 clamp/tripod mounted Eiko/Wiko lamps, look for part number Eiko 19129 (White) or 19120 (Black, I think), these include the fixture and 120v transformer to plug in to a standard wall socket. You can clamp or simply screw them onto a tripod and then adjust to get the right height / light amount you need as they are not technically dimmable. You probably should get the black backed bulbs as the standard ones will have a orange fringe which could be annoying.

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2014, 08:11:01 am »