Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: film stock most latitude, colour / black white  (Read 1941 times)

boogotti

film stock most latitude, colour / black white
« on: September 18, 2014, 07:16:07 am »

Hi just wondering which film stocks have the most latitude for color and black and white:
These i have listed from reading around the web, but would like your thoughts on this.

Colour Film
Fuji 400H

Black and white
Ilford xp2 400

I have shot with kodak porta 400 and kodak trix 400, i was very impressed with kodak trix 400 latitude. Just wondering what you guys think and your experience? As i'm very new to shooting film

Thank you
Ravi
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 07:19:05 am by boogotti »

Telecaster

Re: film stock most latitude, colour / black white
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2014, 04:34:19 pm »

XP2 Super doesn't handle underexposure very well but you can overexpose quite a bit without concern. I used to rate it at ISO 250 and would often do a +1 exposure from there for scenes with lots of midrange to shadow tones.

-Dave-

boogotti

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2014, 06:55:41 pm »

XP2 Super doesn't handle underexposure very well but you can overexpose quite a bit without concern. I used to rate it at ISO 250 and would often do a +1 exposure from there for scenes with lots of midrange to shadow tones.

-Dave-

thank you Dave, how have you found the Ilford XP2 Super compared to kodak tri-x? interns of dynamic range?

Ravi

DanielStone

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2014, 09:15:48 pm »

•B/W processing is highly subjective to time & temperature.
•C-41(color negative) is "standardized", so all films have the same "normal" developing time.