Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HP Zs and adhesive matte vinyl, best choice?  (Read 982 times)

Ernst Dinkla

HP Zs and adhesive matte vinyl, best choice?
« on: August 14, 2014, 04:15:36 am »

Anyone with some experience? Need to be matte, permanent adhesion, indoor use and above all have a good gamut.
I have little experience with media like that.

Edit: On second thought it may include Phototex like materials too as I read that they are easier to apply and hold better in time.

--
Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst

http://www.pigment-print.com/spectralplots/spectrumviz_1.htm
April 2014, 600+ inkjet media white spectral plots.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2014, 04:40:13 am by Ernst Dinkla »

jasdown

Re: HP Zs and adhesive matte vinyl, best choice?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2014, 02:29:36 pm »

Hi Ernst,

I would recommend Self-Adhesive Matte Propylene Banner (8 mil) for permanent indoor adhesion plus really good gamut (after profile) on my Z3200. However, it should be cautioned that installation on a wall can be problematic, with lots of pesky trapped air bubbles, unless you're an experienced sign installer with highly developed squeegee skills!

That's why I tend to always use Photo-Tex. I have run probably a dozen rolls of this material on my HP Z. Its gamut is not quite as high as the Adhesive Matte Propylene (fabric versus smooth white plastic), but it goes on -- and off -- with ease on a wall! Photo-Tex came out recently with a version of higher-tack adhesive that is more aggressive (Phototex "Ex"), and another version with a higher white-point (Phototex "OPA"), but I have never used anything but their "standard" aqueous-based material.

For the Photo-Tex I built my best profile around Hahnemhle Textured Fine Art Paper preset. There is already an HP preset for the Self Adhesive Matte Propylene.

jferrari

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2014, 03:23:37 pm »