Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie - Monitor calibration & 3500k or 4700k proofing and viewing area  (Read 3331 times)

Sunshine7

What monitor calibration hardware/software to best use in this situation so that my iMac screen matches my printouts?

I am totally new to this, and will start printing and stretching large format fine art prints for an artist friend, and once everything is up and running for some other people as well, after which I then hope to expand into a small 'highest quality only' print shop using low profit margins to get started. I'm planning to follow a workshop by a photographer I admire in order to learn how to produce these great best quality prints.

So, I just bought a used 21.5" iMac with 20Gb memory, Photoshop and Lightroom, a perfect shop-floor Canon ipf8400 printer with rebate, and am now looking how to best calibrate my iMac screen so that I will print out exactly what I see on the screen.

For now I will only use the Breathing Color Pura Velvet & Pura Smooth papers and their Lyve canvas to make full size prints from original artwork (from 16x20 to 40x48.) Breathing Color offered to make custom profiles that specifically match my printer etc. and Canon offered to make custom profiles as well, if I send them the paper, for which they will use their top notch spectrophotometer. As far as I understand it, this would take care of the ICC profiles, and i would not need the calibration to create the profiles, which leaves calibrating the iMac screen.

Options I can think of are:

X-rite ColorMunki (new approx $400)
X-rite i1Pro 2  - no idea about the different versions of this one, ie photo, pro, basic etc (second hand - approx $900)
X-rite eye 1 pro (this is the old version, second hand - approx $300)