Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: HDR Do's and Dont for landscape  (Read 8750 times)

ashikthomas.photography

HDR Do's and Dont for landscape
« on: August 08, 2014, 09:54:27 am »

I am just getting into landscape photography from Wedding photography and some HDR....i just want to know how most of you get such amazing dramatic mindblowing results...an inspiration would be Trey Ratcliff... I used Photoshop, Lightroom & HDR Efex for this...lotta time...what do you guys use??? thanks

https://scontent-a-mad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/t1.0-9/14178_343812105768138_7658650462605980183_n.jpg

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: HDR Do's and Dont for landscape
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 11:11:42 am »

I must say that the photo you suggested is what I consider a horrid example of HDR. It is so blatantly fake and over-processed, I do not see how it can be considered attractive. But, different strokes and all that.

I did a lot with HDR out west last fall and am very happy with most of the results, this may be my fave. It was taken in a slot canyon in Utah using a D600 and a Sigma 35mm f/1.4. Three shots, handheld, one at the metered exposure and then 2 stops over and 2 stops under. The original raw files were combined in HDR Expose 3 and the resulting TIFF sent to Lightroom for final tweaking. So, the process is not really all that involved, although some people make it so (as they do with pano stitching).

Alan Klein

• Flicker photos
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 12:37:05 pm »

HDR tends to soak the contrast out of pictures, especially the blacks,  highlighting the mid-tones reducing the range of blacks to whites.