Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D70 Raw  (Read 4319 times)

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« on: September 29, 2005, 10:28:47 PM »

I've just downloaded some raw images shot with D70 and tried to open them in Photo shop cs2 raw converter without success what could be the problem as this is only a problem with the d70 raw.
Logged

bob mccarthy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 372
    • http://
D70 Raw
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2005, 10:55:51 PM »

What is the problem specifically? CS2 certainly works fine with the D70 raw.

I'll guess!

If when you launch a d70 file in bridge, the Nikon Raw converter launches not the Adobe one.

If so, remove the Nikon raw converter (a plugin) from CS2 (or lead the file name with a ~ (tilde). If you install any nikon app it automatically installs the Nikon Raw converter in Photoshop. Easy to disarm.

Bob
Logged

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2005, 12:42:37 AM »

I get an error message saying could not complete your request because its no the right kind of document.
Don't I need the raw converter to convert from raw to tiff?
Logged

Jonathan Wienke

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5829
    • http://visual-vacations.com/
D70 Raw
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2005, 12:52:26 AM »

You do not need the Nikon plugin for anything; Camera RAW can process Nikon RAW files perfectly well without any Nikon software installed on your machine at all.

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2005, 07:37:45 PM »

How do I go about disarming this Nikon plug in. I did'nt know there was a plugin installed. Why would this be stopping CS2 from opening raw files?
Thanks for your help
Logged

Jamal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
D70 Raw
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2005, 09:39:39 PM »

"Nikon NEF Plugin LE.8bi"

Search for this file in your Photoshop folders and move it somewhere else while you see if it works, it should.  I use Elements or I would tell you exactly where it is (I know from reading somewhere that it is well-hidden but in a plug-ins folder nonetheless).  Make sure you have the latest Camera Raw.8bi file in the folder you remove it from.  I don't know why it prevents CS2 from opening raw files, but it does.
Logged

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2005, 07:49:24 PM »

Found that plugin in program files nikon picture project. Cut and pasted it to another drive tried to open raw files in cs2 but same error message came up. I then place the plugin back. Seems to be a problem with the D70s raw files?
Logged

Jonathan Wienke

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5829
    • http://visual-vacations.com/
D70 Raw
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 11:03:31 PM »

The one you need to get rid of in in your Photoshop plugins folder somewhere. The one in Nikon Picture is totally irrelevant.

bob mccarthy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 372
    • http://
D70 Raw
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2005, 12:08:24 AM »

The one that needs to be revised is in

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

or something close. I'm on my home laptop so your subject to the wims of my memory,

just delete it, you can always copy a new onefrom PP.

Bob
Logged

bob mccarthy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 372
    • http://
D70 Raw
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2005, 12:11:05 AM »

The one that needs to be removed is in

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

or something close. I'm on my home laptop so your subject to the wims of my memory,

just delete it, you can always copy a new onefrom PP.

Bob
Logged

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2005, 05:26:17 AM »

I did cut and relocate it to another drive with no success in opening a raw file. Is it necessary to delete it to have an effect?
Logged

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2005, 08:08:21 AM »

Found it and moved it to another drive,unfortunately I still can't open a D70 RAW file any other suggestions?
Thanks
Logged

poliwog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
D70 Raw
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2005, 09:04:31 AM »

Do you have a D70 or a D70s? If the latter, you will need to DL an update to Camera Raw from the Adobe site.
Logged

BobMcCarthy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
D70 Raw
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2005, 03:50:17 PM »

I just updated Capture and it installed a plugin at

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins\Adobe Photoshop Only\File Formats

which also temporarily broke CS2.

Apparently, it now requires this one to be removed ALSO.

Do use the latest camera raw.

Bob
Logged

Baz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
D70 Raw
« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2005, 02:25:29 AM »

I've just successfully opened a D70s RAW file in photoshop cs2 by downloading the latest raw update 3.1 from the Adobe web site. I didn't realise the was a difference between the D70 and the D70s Raw. Hope this thread helps someone else as well. Thanks everyone for your help.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up