Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flash for Nikon D70s  (Read 6245 times)

Jamal

Flash for Nikon D70s
« on: September 27, 2005, 03:31:29 pm »

I did a quick search of this forum and did not find anything pertaining to my quandry.  I am new to photography and am looking for a flash unit for my Nikon D70s DSLR.  What I have found on the web is that the Nikon SB600 and SB800 are good fits for the D70s.  I will probably go for the SB600, but would like to do some more research.

Are there any other makes that I should be looking at?

My needs, I think, are pretty basic.  I will be photographing people (musicians during live performances, mostly), but not in a studio.  I will only need the flash attached to the camera and won't be doing any multiple flash setups.  Depending on how close I can get to a stage I often need the flash to have greater range than the built-in flash.

I have already gathered a few seemingly reliable sites for reviews, etc., but none of them contain information that helps me with this question.

Thanks.
-Rich

BryanHansel

• www.bryanhansel.com
Flash for Nikon D70s
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2005, 12:53:39 pm »

I'd go with the SB-800, which is what I use.  It doesn't cost that much more but is more powerful.  You'll be surprised how handy that is, especially for dark scenes.  

You should also consider getting a cord to take the flash off camera and a flash bracket to hold the flash off camera.  This will allow you to move the flash to get it over the lens when shooting vertically, so the light doesn't look like it is coming in from the side.  If you get a bracket get one that doesn't require tightening and untightening when you flip the bracket.