Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Saving 'extracts' as PNG's  (Read 1405 times)

Justinr

• Ink+images
Saving 'extracts' as PNG's
« on: July 03, 2014, 05:53:21 pm »

I've been asked to do some product shots and the customer would like the items extracted from the background and saved as PNG files. I can't say I've  had much success in working out how to do this. I'm using CS2. Any pointers appreciated.

Rand47

Re: Saving 'extracts' as PNG's
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2014, 09:21:35 pm »

I'm no expert ergo I'm pretty sure there's a better way than my cluge - but here's my workflow on this:

After my original image is extracted, I create a new document with the appropriate dimensions, etc. and a transparent background.

I drag and drop the extracted image into that new document.

I use the quick select and/or eraser tool to get rid of any "white" that is masking the transparent background.   Usually only takes a minute or so.  I now have the extracted image as I like it on a transparent background.

File - Save As - PNG

I'm done.

Rand
Rand Scott Adams

Justinr

• Ink+images
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 10:45:44 am »

I'm no expert ergo I'm pretty sure there's a better way than my cluge - but here's my workflow on this:

After my original image is extracted, I create a new document with the appropriate dimensions, etc. and a transparent background.

I drag and drop the extracted image into that new document.

I use the quick select and/or eraser tool to get rid of any "white" that is masking the transparent background.   Usually only takes a minute or so.  I now have the extracted image as I like it on a transparent background.

File - Save As - PNG

I'm done.

Rand

Cheers for that, I've been wrestling with it most of the day and have concluded that Chroma Key is the only realistic way forward.

Thanks for the input anyway.

Rand47

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2014, 12:14:44 pm »