Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a better control for LR than a Mouse / keyboard? Shuttle Pro?  (Read 3899 times)

One Frame at a Time

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183

Hi,  I am looking for a better way to control LR.  I have a Shuttle Pro v.2 on hand from a long ago video project.  Wondering if anyone is using that; and could give some feedback?  I've seen a link to a Mac version of key mapping for the device (i'm pc) but it does not look all that helpful from a quick look.  My hope is to find a smooth and easy way to move the sliders without a mouse.
Thanks for any input.

Paul
Logged

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 635

I haven't used a mouse for over 15 years! Instead I use a trackball and for editing purposes, a Wacom tablet.
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey that educates us.

JimAscher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 382
    • Jim Ascher Photos

I haven't used a mouse for over 15 years! Instead I use a trackball and for editing purposes, a Wacom tablet.

Same here.
Logged
Jim Ascher

See my SmugMug site:
http://jimascherphotos.smugmug.com/

OnyimBob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 302
    • http://

Might I ask which tablet?
Bob.

JimAscher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 382
    • Jim Ascher Photos

Might I ask which tablet?
Bob.

An older model, the Bamboo (CTH-460).
Logged
Jim Ascher

See my SmugMug site:
http://jimascherphotos.smugmug.com/

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 635

Might I ask which tablet?
Bob.
I have the Intuos3  6"x11"
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey that educates us.

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738

Might I ask which tablet?
Bob.

Intuous 5 Touch  "medium."  The large size is "too large" IMO, for photo editing.

I'm still about 80% mouse, 20% tablet for finer editing control when needed.

Rand
« Last Edit: June 05, 2014, 05:21:57 PM by Rand47 »
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

Ken Bennett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1600
    • http://www.kenbennettphoto.com

Might I ask which tablet?
Bob.

I have the big Intuos III also. I like the size. I do turn off all the buttons because I kept hitting them accidentally, so I use the tablet in conjunction with the keyboard and a mouse -- the keyboard for keystroke commands to choose tools, change brush sizes, etc., in LR and PS.

I did try a Bamboo at home but the tip is totally different and I couldn't stand it.
Logged
Equipment: a camera and some lenses. Images: Work photos. Personal photos.

Chris Sanderson

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2132

If you like using Apple's TouchPad with gestures, The Touch looks very cool.

I have tried it with Final Cut and it works very well.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2014, 12:34:35 PM by Chris Sanderson »
Logged
Christopher Sanderson
The Luminous-Landscape

mhospelt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
    • Michael Hospelt Photography

Use the Wacom Intuous 4. Great tablet and you can get them cheap on Ebay. But for 60% of my editing  I use still my Logitech Mouse.
Logged

One Frame at a Time

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183

I think what bothers me most is holding down the mouse button when moving the sliders back an forth. During a long session it becomes tiresome and tedious.  Is there a way to use the keyboard arrows so the adjustment moves one increment at a time, instead of jumping 5 at a time?
Logged

Misirlou

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 711
    • http://

I think what bothers me most is holding down the mouse button when moving the sliders back an forth. During a long session it becomes tiresome and tedious.  Is there a way to use the keyboard arrows so the adjustment moves one increment at a time, instead of jumping 5 at a time?

Yes. Click on the number displayed for the slider's current value, just under the right end of the slider. You can either type a number in directly, or use the up and down arrow keys to adjust by value per press.
Logged

One Frame at a Time

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183

Terrific! Thanks!  I knew you could enter a value but that doesn't work too well if your trying to close in on an end point.  The up down should help my cramping hand :-)
Logged

Misirlou

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 711
    • http://

Terrific! Thanks!  I knew you could enter a value but that doesn't work too well if your trying to close in on an end point.  The up down should help my cramping hand :-)

What I'd really like is if the scroll wheel on my trackball would do that.
Logged

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738

What I'd really like is if the scroll wheel on my trackball would do that.

On my mouse w/ scroll wheel, if I left-click and "hold" on the slider handle, the scroll wheel will then move the slider. 

Rand
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

Misirlou

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 711
    • http://

On my mouse w/ scroll wheel, if I left-click and "hold" on the slider handle, the scroll wheel will then move the slider. 

Rand

I got that to work too. Very useful.
Logged

luxborealis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1751
    • luxBorealis.com - photography by Terry McDonald

Hi,  I am looking for a better way to control LR.  I have a Shuttle Pro v.2 on hand from a long ago video project.  Wondering if anyone is using that; and could give some feedback?  I've seen a link to a Mac version of key mapping for the device (i'm pc) but it does not look all that helpful from a quick look.  My hope is to find a smooth and easy way to move the sliders without a mouse.
Thanks for any input.

Paul

I'm using my MacBook Pro's touch pad with the right hand and the keyboard with the left - it plays just like a piano.

One thing I stopped using almost right away were the LR sliders. While they may be helpful for gross adjustments, I now skip them in favour of the cursor (and Shift+cursor) keys as I can fine tune results much more easily. I use tab (and Shift+tab) to move back and forth through the fields as needed.
Logged
Terry McDonald
Revealing the art inherent in nature - visit luxBorealis.com.
Have a read of my PhotoBlog and subscribe!

Roberto Frieri

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 311
    • www.robertofrieri.net

Not with LR, but with Capture One, I use an Intuos 5 Pro Small. Sometimes it's very very useful.

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2302
    • http://www.paulholman.com

 I have a Shuttle Pro v.2 on hand from a long ago video project.  Wondering if anyone is using that; and could give some feedback?
To address this original question; Yes, I've used a Shuttle with Lightroom.
I found it most useful in the library module. It took a while to set up a custom set of commands, but then it made some tasks much easier. However I didn't really find it any use in the Develop module. After a few months I gave up with it, it was only really of any use when importing large numbers of images and I don't do that too often.
The shuttles are designed for video work and excel at that as it needs a different set of interactions with the UI. Lightroom just doesn't much benefit from that hardware.

Despite having a graphics tablet and shuttle available, I still find working with the mouse fastest.
Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2033
    • http://www.ellisvener.com

This is ridiculously expensive but it does work very well once you have trained yourself to use it: http://www.rpgkeys.com/

Personally I use a standard keyboard, a mouse and a Wacom Intous 5.

Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up