Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: HDR test  (Read 6185 times)

Fine_Art

HDR test
« on: June 01, 2014, 07:11:17 pm »

I am a HDR newb. This was 3 .7ev bracketed shots out of a big pano.
I did the raw conversion into 32bit floating point in images plus. Screengrab to MS paint.
Snow tones seem ok? Darks Ok? Nothing looks nasty grunge to my eye. Opinions?

Fine_Art

Re: HDR test
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 07:20:27 pm »

Here are the 3 frames in linear 32 bit FP for interest in discussion. Screenshot cropped.

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2014, 07:46:13 pm »

It does not look like a HDR because the end result doesn't appear to be any different than a single capture?

Fine_Art

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2014, 10:02:23 pm »

It might not look vastly different from the brightest  +.7 in linear, it is still plus about 1ev dynamic range over the D600 regular. The brightest is blown out in the snow even before gamma. I am using the darks from the brightest shot with a small gamma curve, not the typical 2.2. The snow is from the darkest bracket with gamma near 2.2 taking it close to 65535 in 16 bit.

stamper

« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2014, 03:50:40 am »

When you shot the scene did you think it was a high contrast scene that justified the need for HDR? I have the D600 and in my limited knowledge of using Rawdigger then the D600 has about two and two thirds of headroom exposure before over exposure becomes a problem. Your image looks a little flat.

Fine_Art

« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2014, 11:26:25 am »

When you shot the scene did you think it was a high contrast scene that justified the need for HDR? I have the D600 and in my limited knowledge of using Rawdigger then the D600 has about two and two thirds of headroom exposure before over exposure becomes a problem. Your image looks a little flat.