Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: The large format sacrifice  (Read 8058 times)

Lorenzo Pierucci

• Work hard & be nice to people
    • Lorenzo Pierucci Studio
The large format sacrifice
« on: May 30, 2014, 11:05:00 am »

Hi everybody,

for who read this forum often you might had see all my "pilgrimage" from buying my first Valeo 22 and then my TOYO VIEW.
Im now happily using it for some months, and i have to admit it: i learn more in this few month that in 7 years ( I'm a young photographer ) with my 5DII then D800. I feel that the photos turns out different, more tridimensional. Im attaching 2 shots. One is a interior for a lounge bar, the other is my first ever real architectural assignment. I shoot it today, a university in Tainan, south of Taiwan. I never ever had such image with my D800 ( never used tilt shift lens tho, only monstrous the 14-24 ). But this is consequential to the major dedication and attention that the 4x5 push me to. But this images comes to such a prize:

-the system itself is around 5-6 kilos ( guessing ) plus mac
-25 ISO of the Valeo, bad in low light situation or extremely long to use.
-live view only tethered, extremely hard to find focus ( not a problem if i set it to infinity, but It really make me think twice before move the focus)

After edit my photos today, i come across at some post about the new TS lens ( especially canon one ) and how now days 35mm camera just are the way to go.
I don't care about the hard work and the "sacrifice" but did anybody feel that stitching 4 to 9 MF shots give a better result of a 35 mm camera?

Is not about resolution ( nowadays all my clients go straight for my "internet ready JPEG" and totally ignore the 10000x7000 TIFF), what i talk about is feel, color   and distortion. There is no difference from a shoot with at 90 mm Large format and a 24 mm on a FF  35mm ? The same photos took at the same camera position, will look the same? or 35 mm will look more flat.