Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Firing Phase One H101 from computer without mounting  (Read 817 times)

KingRoach

• http://photographeronbudget.blogspot.co.uk
Firing Phase One H101 from computer without mounting
« on: May 08, 2014, 08:38:52 pm »

Hello.

I've recently acquired this Phase One H101 digital back in Hasselblad H mount (and body design) and I intend to use it on a Fuji GX680 and/or any large format system. I was also hoping to try many self-mounted lenses, and for that purpose, I was hoping I could just use the software to capture an image via FireWire.

Needless to say I'm a noob to digital backs. I did a lot of googling and found out the Phase One H backs need to be woken up because they use Kodak chips, but I though the Firewire connection should be able to wake them up, otherwise why would the software have a Capture button? (Using Capture One DB)

What I did so far was install Capture One DB on a Max OS X and connect the firewire. The digital back beeped and I saw green LED's. The software recognised the back. I click on 'capture' on the computer but I get nothing out of it.

I hope somebody can make this clear to me. At least I need to test the back and make sure it works before I buy the right adapters to the right cameras. Is there a way to fire the cable so I can inspect the picture (looking for dead pixels, for example) as it it without mounting and without sync cables?

To summarise:

Can you fire the back without it being mounted? What do you need to do that?
And what do you need for the 2-shot mode by which you fire once to wake it up, and fire again to capture? They say a "regular" cable release. Do they mean a Phase One proprietary one, or something else? There are three ports on this back other than firewire: one must be flash output signal, one is a 3pin one, and one looks like legacy cable release.