Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Pentax 645Z vs Phase One & Hasselblad  (Read 34937 times)

OldHickory30

Pentax 645Z vs Phase One & Hasselblad
« on: May 06, 2014, 11:49:02 am »

Having owned several P1's and Hasselblad, I was contemplating returning to Phase One until the Pentax 645z came out, utilizing the same Sony sensor, with considerably more functionality. People have questioned the fact several times on P1's forums why the IQ250 is 400% more then the 645Z, the specs are identical, of course we don't have any solid field tests of the 645z, however the 645z, does also include wether sealing, video capability, and an unbelievable ISO range, with what looks like a simple UI.
Phase One has become quite defensive on the forums, even locking people out of the when the question is posed, what am I getting for 400% more in cost?
My gut feeling is Pentax has accepted lower margins being a much larger organization. I have been shooting commercially for 20+ years with a technology background, and in my opinion, when shooting in RAW, the sensor and the lens are pretty much what makes up the image. So again why is the P1 IQ250 $ 34K and the Pentax is $8496... a 400% difference!

david distefano

Re: Pentax 645Z vs Phase One & Hasselblad
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 12:16:29 pm »

Having owned several P1's and Hasselblad, I was contemplating returning to Phase One until the Pentax 645z came out, utilizing the same Sony sensor, with considerably more functionality. People have questioned the fact several times on P1's forums why the IQ250 is 400% more then the 645Z, the specs are identical, of course we don't have any solid field tests of the 645z, however the 645z, does also include wether sealing, video capability, and an unbelievable ISO range, with what looks like a simple UI.
Phase One has become quite defensive on the forums, even locking people out of the when the question is posed, what am I getting for 400% more in cost?