Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Photographing at Art Fairs  (Read 23651 times)

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Photographing at Art Fairs
« on: April 30, 2014, 09:37:44 pm »

I've been participating in another forum in a thread about photographing art pieces at art fairs and copyright infringement by doing so. The author, a painter, made several claims that I find dubious from a legal perspective (though I am not a lawyer).

His main claim is that "photographing art without permission is theft," even when standing on public ground, outside of the artist's tent.

From what I know, the very act of photographing something is not theft or illegal, but the subsequent use of the photograph for commercial purposes is.

He wants exhibitors to put the following sign (emphasis mine):

ATTEMPTING TO
PHOTOGRAPH ARTWORK
WITHOUT ATTENDANT’S
PERMISSION :
1) SHALL CONSTITUTE PRIMA
FACIA EVIDENCE OF
CONSPIRACY TO ENGAGE IN
COPYRIGHT PIRACY AND MAY
BE SUBJECT TO LEGAL OR
CIVIL PROSECUTION;
2) SHALL CONSTITUTE
PERMISSION TO SURRENDER
THE IMAGE/S
BY REVIEW AND
DELETION, BY EXPOSING
FILM
, OR BY SURRENDERING
THE CAMERA
;
3) SHALL CONSTITUTE
PERMISSION TO PROVIDE
IDENTIFICATION
TO
ATTENDANT.
DOES NOT APPLY TO EVENT
STAFF, SECURITY, OR TO
CREDENTIALED NEWS MEDIA
ON ASSIGNMENT.
Sign courtesy of ARTandJUNK.com art show artists’ anti-piracy services.
Distribute freely. ARTandJUNK.com disclaims liability from use of the sign.

Now, I am all for copyright protection, but this seems to me a step too far, in terms of its legality. As far as I know, only police has the rights claimed above, and only if they had a probable cause that a crime is committed. Even police can not request the deletion or confiscate the equipment without a court order.

My impression is that acting in the above fashion seems like a lawsuit waiting to happen. One participant actually said: