Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom Cropping  (Read 1960 times)

David Eichler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
    • San Francisco Architectural and Interior Photographer
Lightroom Cropping
« on: April 26, 2014, 07:03:33 PM »

I am trying to designate image dimensions of 1,795 x 1,287 with the crop tool in LR4.4, using custom dimensions, and I can't seem to get it
do that. Is this some kind of bug? Mac OS 10.8.5 if that matters.
Logged

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9405
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2014, 07:08:43 PM »

1,795 x 1,287 is very close to 5x7 ratio, so the program defaults to that one, since it already exists in the menu of standard ratios.

David Eichler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
    • San Francisco Architectural and Interior Photographer
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2014, 07:21:25 PM »

Okay, well, is there a way to stop it from reverting to a default and giving true custom dimensions?
Logged

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9405
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2014, 07:40:37 PM »

That would be beyond my pay grade, as they say. However, just a quick note: in the crop module you are not really giving the crop any dimensions per se, just a ratio. You can't say "Crop it to 2000x3000 pixels, please." You can, however, say "Crop it to 2x3 ratio." And then, in the Export module, specify the desired dimension in pixels.

David Eichler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
    • San Francisco Architectural and Interior Photographer
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2014, 08:54:40 PM »

That would be beyond my pay grade, as they say. However, just a quick note: in the crop module you are not really giving the crop any dimensions per se, just a ratio. You can't say "Crop it to 2000x3000 pixels, please." You can, however, say "Crop it to 2x3 ratio." And then, in the Export module, specify the desired dimension in pixels.

Yes, I understand that.
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2014, 12:14:48 AM »

That's not what the crop tool is for, it doesn't work with large numbers.  You have to boil it down to a ratio, that's what it's for.  Enter 1 : .72

David Eichler

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
    • San Francisco Architectural and Interior Photographer
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2014, 01:37:25 AM »

That's not what the crop tool is for, it doesn't work with large numbers.  You have to boil it down to a ratio, that's what it's for.  Enter 1 : .72

Nope. 1:0.72 gives the same in exact result as 1,795:1,287, that is, the long dimension is changed to 1,794, even though I specify 1,795 pixels when exporting. The short dimension comes out right. Why the one pixel difference on output?
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2014, 01:38:56 AM »

Because .72 is rounded.  What you want can not be boiled down to a clean ratio, simple as that.  Try Photoshop for such a specific need.

Steve House

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2014, 10:08:50 AM »

I'm trying to wrap my mind around why someone would care about a 1 pixel variance in image size for any practical purpose.  Can anyone actually SEE the difference?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2014, 10:13:46 AM by Steve House »
Logged

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2561
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2014, 01:22:35 PM »

If you need a really precise pixel dimension, use a resampling tool and not a crop tool.
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique should always be a means to an end and never the end itself."

James R

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 349
Re: Lightroom Cropping
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2014, 03:11:35 PM »

Since LR5 doesn't do what you want...
There are other options:  I would crop for composition and then take it into PS/Image/ImageSize; or, crop it in PS to your exact dimensions.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up