Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What do I need?  (Read 1751 times)

Benny Profane

What do I need?
« on: April 14, 2014, 03:18:13 pm »

I'm going to set up a little studio in a second bedroom. I'm a pro retoucher, so two major pieces of hardware are the new Mac Pro and a high quality monitor. I will also be buying an Epson 7990, I'm pretty sure. Will I be able to print easily off the same Mac Pro through Photoshop? I don't want the extra cost and hassle of a RIP, and don't think I need it, since super color accuracy isn't something I'm striving for (I work and have worked in pre press for years, so I'm familiar with printers on a professional, press proofing level). Just consistent, calibrated color output from files.

What software would be recommended besides Photoshop for printing. if any?

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Re: What do I need?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 04:07:43 pm »

LR for printing, as I feel you will get superior results at 360 dpi, which is where you need to be on the Epson.

Paul
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

mcpix

• Macframes
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 04:30:13 pm »

Once you decide which paper you will print on, have someone create a custom ICC profile for your printer. Then, buy an i1 Display Pro to keep your monitor in calibration and you should be good to go.

dannybirchwood

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2014, 04:30:38 am »

If using different papers I have often wondered about buying a colour munki to create my own custom icc profile not sure if this would be of use or if they are as good/better than the custom ones you have made.
Dan Garland - Fine Art Printing

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2014, 10:09:53 am »