Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Choosing a Lens For Copy Work Using the OM-D E-M1  (Read 5649 times)

Nick S.

Choosing a Lens For Copy Work Using the OM-D E-M1
« on: March 16, 2014, 10:54:55 am »

Greetings,

I'm a painter with limited experience using digital cameras and would appreciate some advise. I'd like to acquire a high quality macro lens for photographing paintings (oil on canvas) for publication and use on the web. I know a FF camera would be a better choice for copy work, due to it's larger sensor with superior dynamic range, but I need a small camera for shooting landscapes while on painting excursions and am considering the purchase of an Olympus E-M1 with the M. Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8 PRO for that purpose. I can't afford to invest in two separate systems and plan to use the E-M1 for the copy work as well. The Olympus 50mm f/2.0 Macro ED Zuiko Digital Lens with an MMF-3 Lens Mount Adapter looks like a good choice. The M. Zuiko Digital ED 60mm f/2.8 Macro may be a little too long for use in my rather small studio. I'll be shooting canvases that measure up to 48" across and have 18' of floor space. I'm not sure if the Panasonic Leica DG Macro-Elmarit 45mm F2.8 ASPH OIS is compatible with the E-M1 or if there might be other choices from other lens manufacturers. Any thoughts would be welcomed.

Thanks,
Nick

leuallen

Re: Choosing a Lens For Copy Work Using the OM-D E-M1
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 02:17:47 pm »

You could also consider an older manual focus macro. For your purposes manual focus would be preferable anyway. The Om 50mm 3.5 macro comes to mind but there are many others. These are used with adapters.

Larry

BJL

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 02:32:28 pm »

I'm not sure if the Panasonic Leica DG Macro-Elmarit 45mm F2.8 ASPH OIS is compatible with the E-M1 or if there might be other choices from other lens manufacturers.