Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Building an architecture portfolio  (Read 2486 times)

LDJ

Building an architecture portfolio
« on: March 11, 2014, 05:10:13 am »

Dear all

Currently, my work focuses on lifestyle interiors and still-life photography. I would like to diversify into architectural photography and was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on the best way to build a portfolio of architectural work, more specifically, how did you find suitable spaces to photograph? Did you find architectural firms that allowed you to photograph some of their projects for your portfolio? Did you find suitable public spaces and photograph those? Or, did you jump right in and offer your photographic services to architectural firms based on other types of work? Perhaps there is a way that I haven't thought of.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Liam

idillic

Re: Building an architecture portfolio
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 04:36:34 am »

I am an architect & a photographer, with my day job being an architect.  My suggestion is you seek out well known public, or high quality commercial buildings, research them and their architects and look at ways of photographing their buildings that show some understanding of the ideas or intend as expressed by the architect.  The best architectural photography is not dusk shots illustrating warm interiors, or curtain wall facades reflecting dramatic skies, but an series of images that reveal those ideas, and are excellent images in their own right.

Some of today's great architects use well known artists to photograph their work.  You could look at Herzog and de Meuron and their works photographed by Thomas Ruff for example.

Good luck with your efforts.

LDJ

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 02:29:33 pm »