Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Phase One Flash......??  (Read 3937 times)

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Phase One Flash......??
« on: February 16, 2014, 11:17:55 PM »

What do you all use for a flash on a Phase One type camera?  Is it s a Pocket Wizard setting off remotes, or is there actually some specific flash unit you can put on it?

Thanks

Mark H
Logged

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 10:50:28 PM »

Maybe nobody here uses a flash?  74 looks and no thoughts?
Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2107
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 10:53:36 PM »

I use PocketWizard MultiMAX transceivers on all of the still cameras I shoot with: Canon, Hasselblad, Nikon, & PhaseOne. Just the same way I used them with Arca-Swiss, Sinar, Hasselblad square format, Pentax, and Mamiya cameras and lenses.
Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2014, 10:56:41 PM »

Ellis... I appreciate that....  I use them too....  I ask someone and post....

Thanks

Mark H
Logged

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 12:57:13 AM »

I checked a lot and it appears (surprise) you can actually use a Canon 580 EXII flash on the hotshoe....  go figure...

Mark H
Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2107
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2014, 03:36:08 AM »

I checked a lot and it appears (surprise) you can actually use a Canon 580 EXII flash on the hotshoe....  go figure...

Mark H

Including  TTL mode? Or just in Auto-sensor and manual modes? If the latter it shouldn't be a surprise as any hotshoe mount flash should work.
Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2014, 10:44:42 AM »

Going from memory I THINK It works in TTL mode which is what I'm looking for....  Been playing with camera a bit.  I learned a LOT... First ISO 35 and 50... Well you need a tripod in bright daylight for those...  Back in WWII when 50 was FAST film, I'm amazed there were any in focus pictures.

I'll post the link later

Mark H
Logged

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2014, 09:09:51 PM »

Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2107
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2014, 10:21:18 PM »

That's Auto mode where an eye in the flash measures the amount of light reflected by the subject to the  flashes position to regulate output. I think the first flash I saw this feature on was either a Vivitar 283 or similar Sunpak or possibly a Honeywell "potato masher" (handle mount style ) flash back in 1973; but it's not TTL Control.
Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.

TNMark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Phase One Flash......??
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2014, 12:30:23 AM »

and Ellis is correct... It doesn't do TTL....  THANK YOU SIR....... Your knowledge base is broad...


Mark H
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up