Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: 44" Printer or 24" Printer?  (Read 11989 times)

uintaangler

44" Printer or 24" Printer?
« on: January 28, 2014, 11:25:59 pm »

I own an Epson 3880 and have been very pleased with both ease of use and print quality
Increasingly, I find myself tempted by the thought of making larger prints
Obviously, the financial commitment required to step up to a good 24" printer is about half of the cost of moving up to a machine capable of making 44" prints.
Since I can currently make 17" x 22" prints in the 3880 - is stepping up to 24" wide enough or does 44" make more sense.
Based on what decent framing costs, I have a hard time imaging that I will be doing very many 44" wide prints

A little background…..
** I am a hobbyist, not a professional
** I have sold a few prints locally and would love to sell lots more prints
** I shoot with a Nikon D800, so I suspect if I have my technique down, I should be able to get files good enough to print at 44" wide
** I don't really have room for either in my home office, so either way it looks like this machine will reside in the basement

Thanks,
Bob

Paul Ozzello

• www.paulozzello.com
Re: 44" Printer or 24" Printer?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 11:42:08 pm »

24" is small and the printer size isn't that much different - go with the 44". You can always get a 24" roll and print smalller but not the other way around.

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 11:44:57 pm »

If you would "love to sell more prints" then the answer is simple: 44".

My first printer was a 24", because I could not imagine every needing anything bigger.  My imagination let me down.  Every subsequent printer was a 44" and  the next one will be 60".  I sell at art fairs and galleries, where framed pieces in the 30" to 50" high range (by 2 or 3 times as wide) outsell smaller prints by a very big margin and are much more profitable than smaller ones.