Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pixelmator is now 16-bit  (Read 3337 times)

BenMm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« on: January 24, 2014, 01:29:50 PM »

Some of you may be interested to know that the new version of Pixelmator (ver 3.1) is now 16-bit, at least for new Macs.  And it's only $30 (one-time payment :)).  I am currently using 3.0 and it is extremely similar to Photoshop Elements though without the Organizer.  And I can conveniently access it through LR.  The biggest drawback for many is that it is Mac-only.

I have no financial interest in it; only a user.
Logged

jwstl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 04:58:39 PM »

Some of you may be interested to know that the new version of Pixelmator (ver 3.1) is now 16-bit, at least for new Macs.  And it's only $30 (one-time payment :)).  I am currently using 3.0 and it is extremely similar to Photoshop Elements though without the Organizer.  And I can conveniently access it through LR.  The biggest drawback for many is that it is Mac-only.

I have no financial interest in it; only a user.

Version 3.1 only supports 16 Bit on the new Mac Pro module, not all new macs such as the iMacs. I understand 16 bit support for other models is coming but as of now it's the new Mac Pros only.
Logged

BenMm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 05:58:40 PM »

Pixelmator version 3.2 has just come out.  It now has 16-bit support for almost all relatively new Mac's (though not all).  If your Mac has OpenCL it should work.  You also need to have Mavericks.  Still only $30 (free if you already have an earlier version).
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9461
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 07:40:48 PM »

Yep, PS competitors have been doing the right things.

Cheers,
Bernard
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 12:46:32 AM by BernardLanguillier »
Logged
A few images online here!

StephaneB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
    • http://www.lumieredargent.com
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2014, 10:26:21 AM »

Does it have adjustment layers?
Logged

Stéphane

My Webpage

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7997
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 04:11:34 AM »

Does it have adjustment layers?

No, it does not  :(
Logged
Francois

StephaneB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
    • http://www.lumieredargent.com
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2014, 02:01:14 PM »

No, it does not  :(

Right. I fail to see how this is a serious competitor to... well, anything  :)
Logged

Stéphane

My Webpage

David Good

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2014, 05:14:32 PM »

Does it have adjustment layers?

According to the Pixelmator website it does indeed have layers along with blending modes etc.

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9461
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2014, 12:47:05 AM »

Right. I fail to see how this is a serious competitor to... well, anything  :)

Maybe not relative to your needs, but they are getting there.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7997
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2014, 02:25:15 AM »

According to the Pixelmator website it does indeed have layers along with blending modes etc.

Correct, Pixelmator offers layer w/ masks but no adjustment layers or nothing similar to Photoshop's implementation.
Logged
Francois

Manoli

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2014, 03:22:23 AM »

Both Pixelmator and Acorn are now 16-bit.
Neither have adjustment layers per se - yet. The developers of Acorn, though, have told me that adjustment layers are coming- just a question of when.

Today, both apps give you a very useful 'layers-for-lightroom' alternative.
Additionally, they both support the BC_imageunit plugin which give you more refined image control than standard. And in the case of Acorn, it's a non-destructive workflow, allied with a price drop from 49.99 to 29.99


Logged

StephaneB

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
    • http://www.lumieredargent.com
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2014, 02:33:33 PM »

Maybe not relative to your needs, but they are getting there.

Cheers,
Bernard


Hi Bernard

They have been at it for 7 years! Don't hold your breath.

I still think the only one with potential is PhotoLine. I keep trying it from time to time. On the other hand, the CC for Photographers deal is pretty good, so...

Stéphane
« Last Edit: June 15, 2014, 02:35:23 PM by StephaneB »
Logged

Stéphane

My Webpage

plugsnpixels

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 336
    • http://www.plugsandpixels.com
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2014, 05:09:47 PM »

The latest version of PhotoLine (18) introduced Adjustment Layers with the description as follows:

"Adjustment Layers
Adjustment layers are used for applying filters and other operations lossless to images. In order to restrict the effect of an adjustment, the data of the adjustment layers are used as mask."

I agree it's one of the top alternatives to Photoshop. Once you get past the ugly GUI, that is ;-).

For those who say these alternatives fall short in comparison, of course they do in *some* ways, but overall, given the price difference (remember, the CC subscription adds up, no matter how good a deal it is), we really can't complain. I think it's always important to have options in regards to user-end software and even operating systems. Thankfully we do.
Logged
FREE DIGITAL IMAGING EZINE
http://www.plugsandpixels.com

Hening Bettermann

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
    • landshape.net
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #13 on: June 16, 2014, 01:14:27 PM »

Just for the record, PhotoLine has "always" had adjustment layers.

ButchM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 574
Re: Pixelmator is now 16-bit
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2014, 03:37:36 PM »

Since this thread is about Pixelmator ... it would be important to point out the advancements Apple has in store for OS X when it comes to imaging ... there was much offered at WWDC earlier this month indicating non-destructive RAW image processing at the core level of the OS which can be utilized through extensibility to be offered in both Yosemite and iOS 8 ... something which the developers of Pixelmator have embraced in the past ...

Since the advent of Lr, Aperture and C1 ... my dependence on adjustment layers in Ps is almost nonexistent ... For me, those adjustments have been addressed long before the image ever sees a pixel editor.

For many photographers ... a replacement for Photoshop does not require a tit-for-tat exact match in features and specifications. In fact many traditional Ps users may actually embrace the freedom from bloat and complexity if they would only venture forth with an open mind ...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up