Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: graphics processor  (Read 2680 times)

tongelsing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
graphics processor
« on: January 21, 2014, 10:07:42 AM »

I use Photoshop cc. In there latest version “Perspective Warp” is greyed out.
So i went to preferences/performance/graficsprocessor/ advanced settings to discover that  it was impossible to activate “Use OpenCL” and “Use Graphics Processor to Accelerate Computation” in each of the drawing modes.

Computer Mac Pro early 2009   OS Lion 10.7.5  12gig RAM
Monitor: Mac cinema display 30”
Videocard: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120  vram 512mb   driver 2012

Do I need another videocard or can I change my settings somewhere?

Ton
Logged

Redcrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 278
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 04:13:51 PM »

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3609102

Says it might not work on 16bit images.
Logged

jerryrock

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 603
    • The Grove Street Photographer
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2014, 09:22:25 AM »

Your video card was not tested and is not supported in Photoshop CC.

"Note: AMD/ATI 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 series, nVidia GeForce 7000, 8000, 9000, 100, 200, 300 series and Intel HD Graphics (First generation) cards/GPUs are no longer being tested and are not officially supported in Photoshop CC. Some GL functionality is available for these cards, but it's possible that newer features don't work."

http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/photoshop-cs6-gpu-faq1.html#Graphics%20hardware%20not%20officially%20supported%20message
Logged
Gerald J Skrocki
gskrocki.wordpress.com

bill t.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2979
    • http://www.unit16.net
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2014, 05:06:23 PM »

There are nVidia 640 and 650 series cards available for under $100.  If you ever plan to use After Effects, Premiere, or FCP those will help you a lot.  Photoshop is less impacted, although the problem you see now is probably the tip of the iceberg for increasing dependence on the GPU's in high end video cards for new PS functions.  I recently upgraded from a 210 to a 760 nVidia card, and in addition to much better timeline flow in Premiere, some issues with third-party PS plug-ins cleared up.
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9699
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2014, 05:46:20 PM »

I was facing a similar problem with my Pro 2,1 with FCPx and upgraded to an ATI 5770.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

MarkM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 418
    • Alaska Photographer Mark Meyer
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2014, 07:26:55 PM »

I was facing a similar problem with my Pro 2,1 with FCPx and upgraded to an ATI 5770.


I did exactly the same thing. Quick, painless, and relatively cheap.

tongelsing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
Re: graphics processor
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2014, 04:33:37 AM »

Thanks a lot for your responses. It explained why everything was working fine with PS-CS6 and not anymore with PS-CC

So I have to look for a new video card for my mac that will hopefully last  for the next two years.

I work only with Photoshop and Lightroom.

Ton
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up