Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 9900 or 9890?  (Read 2140 times)

HowieShultz

Epson 9900 or 9890?
« on: January 17, 2014, 10:55:26 am »

Two year ago I bought the Epson 4900 and have been pretty satisfied with the results.  It was my first printer so as a newbie I went through the learning curve and now am looking  at doing prints at 44" so I was thinking of getting the 9900 as I figured it would have the same color space with the HDR inks as well as a similar driver and panel interface.  Two of my friends suggested that I should seriously consider the 9890 instead because they said they could not tell the difference in the same print made with the two different printers.  I thought that the additional green and orange inks as well as the increased color space would make the 9900 a slightly better choice but my friends have suggested is that in "real world printing" there is essentially no noticeable difference to justify the additional cost of the printer as well as the additional expense of the 2 extra inks with the 9900.  I am willing to pay the additional money if I felt the quality of the 9900 was better than the 9890.  But if there is not really any tangible difference I just assume save the money.  So I was wondering what others have seen in regard to this issue.  Thanks for your help.

I.T. Supplies

Re: Epson 9900 or 9890?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 12:47:18 pm »

The 9900 is more for doing proofing images for the final product (graphic design jobs), but if you do portraits, landscapes, etc, the Orange and Green may help with the skin tone, grass, leaves and anything else with those colors.

We've also done a test print on the 7900 with and w/o the 2 extra colors and really didn't see a difference.  We did the test print on a flower with high contract greens and some orange tones.

If you're doing mainly photo prints and not much of proofing to final prints, I would recommend going with the 9890 as well.