Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon IPF 8300 on or off?  (Read 1684 times)

mcpix

• Macframes
Canon IPF 8300 on or off?
« on: January 10, 2014, 07:54:18 pm »

When I purchased my Canon 8300 3 years ago, I was told to leave it on all the time. Recently I updated the firmware, and the printer defaulted back to shutting off each day. I read that the new firmware did not automatically do a head cleaning when it was turned on, so I let it go. Today when I started up my 8300, it told me I need to replace the left printhead. It's been over 3 years, so I guess it's time, but I'm wondering if I should switch back to leaving it on all the time.

smjphoto

Re: Canon IPF 8300 on or off?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 08:23:51 pm »

I'm no expert, but my dealer told me to update the firmware a year ago and said to leave it on. The firmware upgrade was supposed to help with the  premature head failures some people have experienced. You have to reset the sleep setting to "off" after the update. My unit definitely turns on in the middle of the night to adjatate the ink supply. I'm not sure what else it does on it's own. Everything I've ever heard has supported leaving it on 24/7.

How much use has your unit had? 3 years seems longer than many low volume users get out of their print heads.

Stuart

mcpix

• Macframes
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2014, 03:56:47 pm »

I would describe my use as low to moderate depending upon the time of year.

I own a photo/video lab and usually run at least 3 prints a week during the slow times, with volume picking up in the summer months and at Christmas.

One of the reasons I picked the Canon 8300 was because my volume varies so much. I owned an Epson 7800 and then a 9800, and actually had my name on the list for a 9900, when people first started complaining about head problems. A poster on LuLa pushed me over to Canon when he said that he owned both and that the Canon was much more trouble free.