Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 and new Mac Pros?  (Read 3296 times)

Bob Rockefeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
  • Mac, iOS, Olympus OM-D E-M1, Epson 3880
    • Bob Rockefeller
C1 and new Mac Pros?
« on: December 25, 2013, 08:22:19 AM »

Since C1 can use hardware acceleration via GPU and OpenCL, do we have any news on how this will work with the new Mac Pros?

I would assume there is, or will quickly be, GPU support.

Will the use of OpenCL give C1 any advantages in speed over Lightroom and Aperture? Although I would have to assume an Aperture update (whenever that may happen) would give it the maximum advantage with the dual GPUs.

 
Logged
Bob
-----------------
Robert J. Rockefeller
Richmond Hill, GA
www.bobrockefeller.com

george2787

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
Re: C1 and new Mac Pros?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 07:54:53 PM »

I'm curious to read something about it too... the only thing I found was this and they're waiting for the new mac pro to arrive: http://www.digitaltransitions.com/blog/dt-blog/new-mac-pro
Logged

george2787

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
Re: C1 and new Mac Pros?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 02:54:21 PM »

first testing with the new mac pro and capture one:

http://macperformanceguide.com/MacPro2013-performance-CaptureOnePro.html
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3316
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: C1 and new Mac Pros?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2014, 04:30:42 PM »

I'm curious to read something about it too... the only thing I found was this and they're waiting for the new mac pro to arrive: http://www.digitaltransitions.com/blog/dt-blog/new-mac-pro

That's our article.

Still waiting for the New Mac Pro to arrive!

We could have ordered a stock unit to have it arrive faster, but our upgrades added considerably to the anticipated delivery delay.
Logged
DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ

gdh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 468
    • https://www.facebook.com/Gallery833-Fine-Art-in-Redding-160225810674500/
Re: C1 and new Mac Pros?
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2014, 12:27:27 AM »

Doug,

Would you mind sharing what upgrades you actually ordered for it. I'm trying to decide what will be helpful versus unnecessary. Apple tech in Cupertino thought that the basic 3.7Ghz +4 core would be the fastest until I started using more than 2 applications, such as Capture One and Photoshop at the same time. Since I make big files from each raw (about 700mb) I'm questioning whether having both applications open together along with Bridge, at what point they will start to slow down the 3.7Ghz +4 core and I'd benefit from the 3.5 Ghz + 6 core.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3316
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: C1 and new Mac Pros?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2014, 04:54:42 AM »

The configuration we ordered was listed in the article:
New Mac Pro and Capture One
Logged
DOUG PETERSON (dep@digitaltransitions.com), Digital Transitions
Dealer for Phase One, Mamiya Leaf, Arca-Swiss, Cambo, Profoto
Office: 877.367.8537
Cell: 740.707.2183
Phase One IQ250 FAQ
Pages: [1]   Go Up