Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Astrophotography with a view camera on large format film?  (Read 9370 times)

Balt

Astrophotography with a view camera on large format film?
« on: November 26, 2013, 06:05:55 pm »

Hi all,

Due to the untimely demise of my Hasselblad digital back I've been forced back into the film world. What initially seemed a terrible thing, is now giving me so much more joy than I ever anticipated it's hard to describe (I should add I'm an amateur, just doing this for fun, not for money - I would think very differently given how much more time it takes to work the photos now!). I in the meantime am processing my own E-6, C-41 as well as B&W and have rediscovered the beauty of the various film types.

I've always enjoyed astrophotography but have not done any film literally in decades. So I'm now piggybacking the Hasselblad as well as the Fuji 6x17 with some pretty decent results.

For wide field work, film is obviously still the way to go (at least until gigapixel CCD sensors become mainstream…). I have thought about experimenting with a view camera and large format film. Has anyone ever done that? Google is surprisingly helpless when searching for "astrophotography view camera".

Any hints, also on where/how to obtain an inexpensive view camera (i.e. sub ~$2k including a lens) to play around with would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

- Balt

Misirlou

• http://
Re: Astrophotography with a view camera on large format film?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 06:42:24 pm »

I had the same idea in the late '90's, and found absolutely no info, so I never followed through. My plan was to try a 4X5 press camera (for best rigidity, and hey, who needs movements for astro?), with the fastest wide lens I had. That happened to be a 90mm Super Angulon.

I've got no idea what 4X5 equipment is costing these days, but something like a Speed Graphic and a 90 f/5.6 Super Angulon would have to be way under $2K.