Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help with using Quad Tone RIP from Windows  (Read 3078 times)

photosbyjoec

Help with using Quad Tone RIP from Windows
« on: November 25, 2013, 09:50:24 am »

I work on a Windows 7 platform and I just purchased Harrington's Quad Tone RIP.  I'm a real newbie at this, so patience please!  I get the general gist of working with the gui (as that is the only option for Windows users).  When I browse the files in the Quad Tone folders, I see a lot of profiles for various papers and ink sets (I print on an Epson R3000).  I don't see any way of accessing those profiles through QTRgui.  Am I missing something, or is this just the way it is for Windows users?  I don't have a densitometer or spectrophotometer to create my own curves, so I'm really looking for some guidance here.  I'd appreciate hearing from anyone who can help.  Thanks!!

Some Guy

Re: Help with using Quad Tone RIP from Windows
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 11:08:10 am »

Been a while since I used it, but try Tools > Curve Creation > Select your Printing Model (Printer) > File > Open> which opens a window of inksets and paper and choose whatever paper mentioned is close to what you have Matte, Velvet, etc. from the included paper names shown.

Fwiw, I am running Windows 8.1 and the program has some error codes that pop up from time to time, I think it was in the Curves generation portion too.  It leaves a lot of residual background things running that I have to shut down in Task Manager too.  Seems support for Windows has waned since the guy who wrote the GUI interface has left (Has the appearance of being written in the Windows 98 era.).  I wasn't happy with the lack of print sharpness either which may be due to ink bleeding verses some other Windows programs for printing.  It's better for Apple now as the author seems to support it better himself, imho.

SG

photosbyjoec

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 12:40:59 pm »