Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?  (Read 11264 times)

Andrija Boljevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« on: August 20, 2013, 06:26:27 PM »

I've been photographing (Eastern Orthodox) church frescoes, and this image with accompanying crop, exhibits a tiled, lined effect in the lower right section by the lights.  I used a Canon 5D mk11 and a v1 24mm-70mmf2.8.  I sent the raw file to PictureCode but never got a satisfactory answer.  This is the only file that exhibited this.  Any explanation?
Logged

Vladimirovich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2013, 09:42:29 PM »

what about other raw converters and tools like rawdigger ?
Logged

Andrija Boljevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2013, 10:32:02 PM »

Thanks for the response.  I like what I get with Photo Ninja, and I have 4 other raw convertors I can use in the course of my little projects.  Its still a somewhat new raw convertor.  It just piqued my interest in getting an explanation why.  There must be some gray-matter left over from my Purdue Engineering Days ;)
Logged

Vladimirovich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2013, 11:24:23 PM »

Thanks for the response.  I like what I get with Photo Ninja, and I have 4 other raw convertors I can use in the course of my little projects.  Its still a somewhat new raw convertor.  It just piqued my interest in getting an explanation why.  There must be some gray-matter left over from my Purdue Engineering Days ;)

so do you get the same issue with other software or not ? just to understand whether it is a specific software issue or not
Logged

Andrija Boljevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2013, 06:43:34 AM »

This is specific to Photo Ninja.  I don't see this in LR or C1 or PS5, or the Canon software.  I'm just interested in knowing what this might be.
Logged

stormyboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2013, 01:30:56 PM »

I noticed Photo Ninja 1.1.1 pre-release is out.   

Changes for V1.1.1
•Suppress pink fringes around clipped/recovered specular highlights
•Reduced incidence and/or severity of false highlight recovery colors in a number of cases
•Refined behavior of the color recovery strength slider
•More aggressive suppression of demosaicing color artifacts
•Noise profiler made more robust to handle some difficult cases
•Fixed some possible cases of maze artifacts in clipped highlight areas
•Trim junk on right side of Sony RX1, RX1R, and NEX-7 images
•For Nikon P7100, modify heurstistics for choosing black point
•Parse ISO and white balance for some Kodak models (e.g. SLRn)
•Parse camera white balance and lens data for Canon 6D
Logged

robgo2

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 385
    • Robert Goldstein Photography
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2013, 12:18:11 AM »

That's a weird artifact.  I have been using Photo Ninja extensively for about 10 months and have never seen anything like that.  Is this the one and only time that you have seen it in your images?  If so, I would not spend much time worrying about it.  If it is a regular occurrence, then I would think that there is some problem with how the software demosaics files from your camera.

Rob
Logged

Dave Panno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
The update reduces that pinkness.
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2013, 11:06:11 AM »

Much better.
Logged

Andrija Boljevic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: PictureCode Photo Ninja - What is causing this?
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2013, 06:55:49 PM »

Originally, a "Bill" from PictureCode said it was possibly the lens reaching the sensor limit.  This is the only time I've seen this.  It doesn't occur with any other convertor.  But, its a moot point now since, this Friday, I went over to the "darkside" and bought the Nikon D800e.  PN v1.1.1 is an improvement; lots better.  I just upgraded for another year.  I appreciate everyone's input.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 08:25:27 AM by Andrija Boljevic »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up