Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for a large format printer IPF6400/8400?  (Read 4633 times)

arlon

• Pbase account
Looking for a large format printer IPF6400/8400?
« on: August 13, 2013, 09:36:45 am »

I think I'm down to a Canon IPF6400 or 8400. The 6400 would obviously fit in the house better but I do have room for the 8400. I doubt I'd really ever print wider than 3ft but then again a few years ago I thought a 16x20 was a "Large" print. It just seems like for the difference in cost I'd get more bang for the buck with the 8400. I'm just trying to talk myself up to it (assuming they come up with some rebates again). Is there any arguement at all for the 6400 (excluding cost and space)? I am a total amateur with no intention of selling prints. I'm in a smallish town with limited resources and would probably print for a few friends as well as for myself. Printing is a part of the hobby I've ignored but I'm very interested in (doing my own mats and frames, I figure why not prints). I shoot a LOT of panoramas and really want to print some stuff that would be 2-3ft wide and maybe up to 12ft long on canvas so the 8400 just seemed like a logical choice. I also won't be printing daily and it seems like the Canons have a good reputation for the casual/hobby printer.  By current printer is a dead epson 1880, this would be quite a step UP..
Honey, did you bring an extra battery?

Jeff Magidson

• Artslides Digital Imaging
Re: Looking for a large format printer IPF6400/8400?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2013, 11:10:04 am »