Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: USB controlled switch needed  (Read 2856 times)

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2664
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
USB controlled switch needed
« on: July 17, 2013, 08:14:01 AM »

I am always forgetting to turn off my external RAID array. I am looking for a switch that sits between the array and the power. The switch is also plugged into a USB port on the computer, and the array is turned on or off based on the computer being on or off. Any such thing?
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique should always be a means to an end and never the end itself."

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2590
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 09:01:23 AM »

I use one of the plug adaptors that cuts power to an extension socket when it detects that the main computer has been switched off. When I power down the main unit it cuts power entirely to all screens, scanners, printers, anything else etc.
Mine was supplied FoC by my utility company, but this seems very similar:-
http://www.maplin.co.uk/automatic-pc-standby-shutdown-for-home-and-office-612687
Logged

tastar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
    • http://www.tastarsupply.com
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2013, 08:32:22 AM »

CyberPower Systems has surge protectors that have a master outlet - and that will shut down power to other outlets when the master device is powered down. Here's a decent quality one at this link on their website.

Tony
Logged

John.Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
    • Images by Murray
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2013, 04:28:34 PM »

Not sure whether you are using a UPS, but the APC BackUPS ES-750 has a master outlet than can be configured to control peripheral devices - highly recommended

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2664
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2013, 04:41:54 PM »

I do know about the UPS units that have a master outlet that controls other devices. That would be the ideal solution. The problem is that my Dell desktop has a "fancy" power supply that requires a UPS with a very fast switching speed. I don't know the supposed advantage of this, but I had to buy a special high-speed UPS that does not have the master outlet feature. Pain in the neck - but otherwise a reliable and excellent computer.
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique should always be a means to an end and never the end itself."

John.Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
    • Images by Murray
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2013, 01:33:14 AM »

Whaaat? What model?

Dell marketing suits at work....

A computer that requires a very fast UPS switching speed?  Sounds like an under-designed power supply to me, or possibly lack of PS phases on the supply rails of the motherboard itself.  I honestly cannot imagine *any* advantage of a PS having this "feature", other that saving Dell money and presenting another marketing opportunity.

Current draw is current draw - any UPS with a master/slave configuration simply responds to that ....


So - back to your OP - what RAID array are you using?  Are there idle options?  Options for spinning down drives (effectively shutting them off)?
« Last Edit: July 20, 2013, 02:11:28 AM by John.Murray »
Logged

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2664
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2013, 09:29:37 AM »

The computer is a Studio XPS. When I bought it some 3-1/2 years ago it was Dell's top of the line desktop. I plugged in into my existing UPS and did a test and the computer shut off. After some research this is what Dell told me, and I had to buy this higher-cost UPS to work with it. Of course you may be right, perhaps it's just a quirk of a poorly designed or cheap power supply and Dell was blowing smoke. Fact is, however, the system has been working without a single glitch for all this time.

My RAID is a Burly 2-bay unit with a host card from Mac Gurus - pretty bare bones setup.

Anyway, I decided to use a low tech approach to my problem - I moved the RAID box to where the power light is visible!
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique should always be a means to an end and never the end itself."

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7331
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 06:29:39 PM »

The computer is a Studio XPS. When I bought it some 3-1/2 years ago it was Dell's top of the line desktop. I plugged in into my existing UPS and did a test and the computer shut off. After some research this is what Dell told me, and I had to buy this higher-cost UPS to work with it. Of course you may be right, perhaps it's just a quirk of a poorly designed or cheap power supply and Dell was blowing smoke. Fact is, however, the system has been working without a single glitch for all this time.

Dell is not blowing smoke! I have the same experience with a Dell Precision T7400 workstation, the UPS from APC didn't switch fast enough. I only found that out on a rare occasion that we experience an interruption of power-supply in the Netherlands, caused by local digging by another utilities company which damaged the sub-terrain power lines. I replaced it with a UPS from AEG, this time tested it by cutting the power myself, and that triggered the AEG unit without causing any problems.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

EduPerez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 700
    • Edu Pérez
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2013, 05:16:47 AM »

Do you really want to "pull the cord" on the RAID each time you switch the computer off?
I would have assumed that those units would need a proper "shut down".
Logged

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2664
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: USB controlled switch needed
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2013, 07:42:07 AM »

Not this one - it's just 2 disks in a box with an on/off switch. The controller is in the computer so any shut-down stuff would happen as the computer is shutting down.
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique should always be a means to an end and never the end itself."
Pages: [1]   Go Up